Show contents for

Tropentag 2012: Resilience of agricultural systems against crises

General information The annual Conference on Tropical and Subtropical Agricultural and Natural Resource Management (TROPENTAG) is jointly organised by the universities of Bonn, Göttingen, Hohenheim, Kassel-Witzenhausen, Hamburg, Zurich as well as by the Council for Tropical and Subtropical Research (ATSAF e.V) in co-operation with the GIZ Advisory Service on Agricultural Research for Development (BEAF). Tropentag 2012 will be organised jointly by the faculty of agricultural sciences and the faculty of forestry of the Georg-August Universität Göttingen and the faculty of organic agricultural sciences of the University of Kassel. The conference venue will be in Göttingen, Germany. All students, Ph.D. students, scientists, extension workers, decision makers, politicians and practical farmers, interested and engaged in agricultural research and rural development in the tropics and subtropics are invited to participate and to contribute. Target of the conference The Tropentag is a development-oriented and interdisciplinary conference. It addresses issues of resource management, environment, agriculture, forestry, fisheries, food, nutrition and related sciences in the context of rural development, sustainable resource use and poverty alleviation worldwide. Fiat Panis award plenary session On the occasion of this conference a special plenary session will be devoted to the presentation of the  " Hans H. Ruthenberg-Graduate-Award" and the " Josef G. Knoll European Science Award 2012" by the fiat panis foundation, Ulm. Phone and internet There will be a phone line for the conference from Tuersday October 9th until Thursday October 11th at the info-point, this phone number will be communicated.  Registered participants of the conference will be provided with WLAN-access to the internet. Local organising committee of the Tropentag 2012 conference
  • Prof. Dr. Andreas Buerkert (Kassel-Witzenhausen)
  • Prof. Dr. Claus-Peter Czerny (Göttingen)
  • Dr. Christian Hülsebusch (DITSL - Witzenhausen)
  • Prof. Dr. Christoph Kleinn (Göttingen)
  • Prof. Dr. Eva Schlecht (Witzenhausen/Göttingen)
  • Dr. Eric Tielkes (DITSL - Witzenhausen)
  • Prof. Dr. Anthony Whitbread (Göttingen)
For more information, visit the conference website.